RVG Optimize Database: How to Optimize the Database after Clearing it Out

Posted OnApr 18, 2015     CategoryPlugins     CommentsNo comment

In this article we will show you how to use Optimize Database after Deleting Revisions to optimize your database after clearing it out.

Please note: For this article you will need to install the Optimize Database after Deleting Revisions plugin.

Step 1) Login to the WordPress Dashboard.

Step 2) From the left menu of the Admin Panel, click to select Settings >> Optimise DB Options.


Step 3) Once you’ve installed the plugin and head to the settings page, you will be informed as to how to start the optimisation. Head to WP Admin Panel >> Tools >> Optimise Database to do this.


Step 4) Following Step 3, scroll down the page and click the blue button marked Start Optimisation to begin the process of clearing your site of unwanted revisions and clutter, before optimising your site so you can get the best performance out of it.


Step 5) The first section of the optimisation will show the deleted revisions for your posts and pages. This chart will show the revision dates and the number of revisions deleted, which can be shocking to see how much clutter your site gathers up over time.


Step 6) The Optimising Database Tables section will show you the result of the optimisation of each section of your website, and tell you whether it is already up to date, OK or whether it doesn’t support optimisation and needs to be recreated and analysed.


Step 7) The Savings section at the bottom of the page will show you the savings made from the deletion and optimisation of your website database. As you can see from the example below, 321.882kb has been saved from one optimisation. This shows that a lot of space can be saved from optimising your site regularly.


Step 8) Back on the Optimise Database after Deleting Revisions options page, you can choose a number of maximum revisions to keep (leave it as ‘0’ to delete them all), choose to delete all trashed and spammed items, delete unused tags and expired transients. You can also choose to keep a log of each optimisation, and schedule them to take place once a day, week or month, in case you forget. The 1-click link in the Admin bar will enable you to start an optimisation and deletion without leaving your admin panel.


Step 9) You can exclude database tables from your optimisations by ticking the boxes next to the sections you feel don’t need to be optimised and their revisions deleted.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to friend