How to Configure the UpdraftPlus Backup and Restoration Settings and Debugging

Posted OnJul 23, 2014     CategoryPlugins     CommentsNo comment

The final part of the guide will look at the settings and debugging features available to installers of the UpdraftPlus Backup and Restoration WordPress Plugin.

Step 1) Login to the WordPress Dashboard.

Step 2) On the Dashboard, scroll down to Settings via the lefy-hand sidebar and choose UpdraftPlus Backups to be taken to the Settings page for the plugin. From here, choose Settings from the four options on the Toolbar on the top of the page.


Step 3) The first option on the Settings page is to configure backup contents and the schedule, You can create file and database backup intervals that are scheduled (once a week, once a month, every 4 months, etc.) or you can choose to manually back them up. You can also decide what to include/exclude on the backups, including Themes, Plugins and Uploads.


Step 4) For the Database options, you can encrypt your backup files as to ensure that nobody can hack into your site. You will have to purchase the premium option for £37.50 in order to be able to do this. You can also manually decrypt an encrypted database by uploading files to an encryption tool.

Use the reporting section to tick a box that will email any reports you create to your given email address.


Step 5) If you choose to copy your backup to remote storage, such as Dropbox, Email, Amazon S3 and more. If you choose not to use remote storage, your backups remain on the web-server. However, it is recommended that you send at least one back-up to a remote storage location as a precaution. You could wind up losing your website AND the backup at the same time.


Step 6) The Advanced/Debugging settings are not entirely necessary unless you have a problem. For example, you can choose to be emailed if any issues arise whilst backing up your files. You can also choose to split files if they exceed a certain size. This is useful if you are using email as the remote setting for your backups, as they can only hold so much data.


Step 7) Head to the Debugging/Expert Tools section of the settings Toolbar. From here, you can view all the information about your site, including memory usage and limits and the details regarding the type of server you are using.


Step 8) Click on the Count buttons for each of the below options in order to see what was excluded the last time you conducted a backup. If these levels are high, it might be time for another backup to ensure that every aspect of your site is covered. You can conduct another backup using the buttons underneath.


Step 9) If you find that you need to head back to the default settings, you will find the Wipe All Settings button at the bottom of the page.


This concludes our guide of the UpdraftPlus Backup and Restoration plugin.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to friend