Easily Migate WordPress Sites with WP Clone by WP Academy

Posted OnDec 18, 2014     CategoryPlugins     CommentsNo comment

Hello and welcome to the WordPress Plugin guide for WP Clone by WP Academy, which is a plugin that creates a clone of your website so that you can move or copy your WordPress site to another server or domain. You can also move to/from local server hosting and create backup sites using the plugin.

Step 1) On the Dashboard of your website, scroll down the left-hand sidebar and click on ‘Plugins’

1

Step 2) From the ‘Installed Plugins’ page, click on ‘Add New’ at the top of the page. Alternatively, click on ‘Add New’ from the dropdown menu under ‘Plugins’ on the sidebar.

2

Step 3) On the ‘Add Plugins’ page, type in the name of your plugin in the search box on the right hand side, at the top of the page.

3

Step 4) From the ‘Search Results’ page, scroll down to your chosen plugin and click the button marked ‘Install Now’. If you would like to learn more about your plugin, click the blue link marked ‘More Details’

4

Step 5) The plugin is now installed and unpacked into your website. The last thing to do now is click ‘Activate Plugin’

5

Step 6) Once activated, you will be redirected to the ‘Installed Plugins’ page. From here, you can read all the info about your plugins, and deactivate and delete it if you no longer need it.

6

Step 7) Once activated, scroll down the left-hand sidebar of your Dashboard to ‘WP Clone’ and click the link. On the welcome page, you have two options: Create Backup or Restore from URL. Tick the box of which one you are looking to do and then click the blue (for Create Backup) or yellow (for Restore from URL) button to get started.

7

Step 8) Underneath the options, a blue link marked ‘Advanced Settings’ will bring up some more options. Tick the box if you want to use the alternate zip method or use your website to backup the database. You can also set a maximum memory limit and script execution time, so ensure that your website backup and restoration process goes by without any hiccups.

8

Step 9) You can use the exclude directories settings to leave certain sections of your website out of the backup, or to simply backup the database only. Enter the directories you want to exclude into the box below.

9

Step 10) If you are restoring a website that you have backed up from URL, enter your URL into the box provided, read the terms below and tick the box, before hitting the yellow button marked ‘Restore from URL’. Your site will be restored in a matter of moments.

10

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to friend